Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 2,545, Level: 30
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 55
    Overall activity: 0%
    GlockMan22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    39
    Rep Power
    0

    Thumbs up S&W SDVE opinions


    Anyone bought one yet? I like my SD9VE very much.
    The anticipation of death is worse then death itself!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Points: 32,430, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    __jb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sunshine State
    Posts
    6,117
    Glock Armorer?
    Yes
    Glocks Owned
    Help... My Glocks have started multiplying...
    Rep Power
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by GlockMan22 View Post
    Anyone bought one yet? I like my SD9VE very much.
    Looks like a nice gun... How's it shoot?

    Maybe a picture?
    "While the anti-gunners seem very concerned about the "one life" that your firearm might take -- they are not very concerned about the lives it will save." Jon H. Gutmacher, Florida Firearms - Law, Use & Ownership

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Points: 11,915, Level: 71
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 135
    Overall activity: 0%
    sfguard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Eastern Kentucky for now
    Posts
    2,646
    Glock Armorer?
    Yes
    Glocks Owned
    17, 19(4), 20, 21, 21sf, 22(2), 23(3), 26(3), 27(2), 29, 30sf, 32, 34(2), 36(2)
    Rep Power
    8
    Can honestly say no I haven't.
    Certified Glock Armorer, Colt Armorer, FN Armorer, Beretta Armorer, Smith and Wesson revolvers Armorer.

    Kentucky CCDW Instructor

    Glock firearms Instructor

    Proud Veteran of JTF Bravo, Operation Noble Eagle, Operation Enduring Freedom, and Operation Iraqi Freedom.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 237,933, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 17.0%
    Tactworld45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Willow Springs, North Carolina, United States
    Posts
    2,876
    Glock Armorer?
    No
    Glocks Owned
    G21, G22, G19 gen 4, G30, G20SF
    Rep Power
    8
    I havent shot the SD, but I had a Sigma SW9VE. I didnt like it and traded it on my G30. The trigger was very heavy and the recoil was the harshest 9mm I ever shot. I can handle reletively heavy recoil, but it made it unpleasent to shoot compared to my other handguns.
    Don't retreat! Reload!!!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,913, Level: 71
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 137
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    OklahomaSafeShooting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    1,300
    Glock Armorer?
    Yes
    Glocks Owned
    19, 22, 27, 42
    Rep Power
    5
    I got one included with the S&W Survival Package from Academy last year. I would never buy one on it's own. Yes it has an extremely L O N G trigger pull and is probably close to a 15 pound pull. I say this because my trigger pull gauge stops at 12 pounds and it isn't near drop off. I have allowed some students to use it to take courses and to date nobody has liked it. My plan is to lighten and lessen the pull as soon as I have some time to work on my own stuff.

    Bottom line, it's better than nothing especially in a survival situation but not much better.
    The term "Undocumented Alien" is like calling a drug pusher an "Un-Licensed Pharmacist"

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 2,371, Level: 29
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 79
    Overall activity: 0%
    FriscoPinoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    261
    Glock Armorer?
    No
    Glocks Owned
    gen 3 glock 34; gen 3 glock 35(ex); glock 26 gen 4(ex); glock 17 rtf2; glock 19 NIBx gen 3
    Rep Power
    4
    Ive shot it and will stay clear of it lol. A friend of mine has one and he doenst like it either. Says if he gets some funds will switch to a glock. As everyone above me says, extremely hard trigger pull and recoil thats worse than my 45. Better than nothing though. Fairly priced but if I have the money or can wait and save up, I'll just buy a used glock an xd or an m&p. just my 2 cents.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,913, Level: 71
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 137
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    OklahomaSafeShooting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    1,300
    Glock Armorer?
    Yes
    Glocks Owned
    19, 22, 27, 42
    Rep Power
    5
    OK, you guys got me to thinking (always dangerous) so I got out my SD9VE and lightened the trigger pull. It's an easy job but it cuts the trigger pull in half. Now for the bad news; cutting the trigger pull in half brought it down to 8 lbs 10 oz average. I ran two sets of 10 trigger pulls measured with a Lyman Digital Trigger Pull Gauge. I did minimal stone work (enough to take the pebble grain off the cast parts) but nothing to the sear or connector. Smith's design on this firearm does not lend itself to very much trigger work. In researching what S&W was asked to do when they designed this model I came across the requirement that it was to have a "strong trigger pull to reduce unintended discharges". Talk about a having a way out in finishing the trigger group. Anyway as I said in an earlier post it was included in a "Survival Package" and as such it does fill the requirement.
    The term "Undocumented Alien" is like calling a drug pusher an "Un-Licensed Pharmacist"

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Next glock, need opinions
    By matthew00029 in forum Glock Pistols
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 01:58 PM
  2. advice or opinions please??
    By hollowpoints214 in forum Glock Pistols
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 01:55 AM
  3. Opinions on next handgun
    By FriscoPinoy in forum Non-Glock Firearms
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 12-22-2011, 09:47 AM
  4. New and need opinions
    By slogan_98 in forum Glock Pistols
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-05-2011, 11:59 PM
  5. WTS Need your opinions.
    By Mikenmel08 in forum Pistol Classifieds
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 12:11 PM

Search tags for this page

s&w sdve

,

s&w sdve 9mm

,
s&w sdve 9mm reviews
,

sdve

,

sdve 9mm

,

sdve 9mm reviews

,

smith and wesson sdve

,
smith and wesson sdve reviews
Click on a term to search for related topics.