Pearce G43 +1 Review/Measurements
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Points: 187,653, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.5%
    MtStream's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    2,944
    Glock Armorer?
    Yes
    Glocks Owned
    Many
    Rep Power
    16

    Pearce G43 +1 Review/Measurements

    Since G43 magazine extensions has been a popular topic lately and I already had the camera out, I thought I would show the Pearce +1 extension compared to the Glock factory baseplates along with a very brief review.

    For the sake of disclosure - I am already a fan of Pearce mag extensions and have used them for many years on my G26 and more recently on the G42 and G43. I like Pearce's quality and they have always been reliable for me.



    The quality is what I expect from Pearce, they fit perfect and match the texture and contour of the G43 perfectly. I noticed with my G42 extensions the top lip is a little sharp, it blends so well with the pistol that it's not an issue. However the G43 extensions have a smoother feel to the ledge. Taking the factory base plates off the G43 single stack mags is a bit more difficult than the double stack mags. This is due to the more narrow spring, the tool wants to slip to the side when trying to leverage it forward. It just takes a little more attention to keep the tool on the front of the spring while prying forward.

    Glock ships the G43 with a standard magazine that sits flush with the bottom of the gun and a magazine with an extended baseplate which gives a rest for the pinky but does not add additional rounds. Here are the measurements for each:

    Glock Standard = 3.37"
    Glock Extended baseplate = 3.83"
    Pearce +1 = 3.92

    The only difference in size between the Glock extended baseplate and the Pearce was a small lip added by pearce to provide a better contor for the finger. For me, this lip does make the pistol more comfortable to grip and control. The extra round could easily be housed in the Glock extended baseplate had they decided to do so.

    Glock Standard Baseplate


    Glock Extended Baseplate


    Pearce +1



    As you can see the Pearce +1 extensions add minimal length to the magazines and gun. They definitely take advantage of the extra space already in the G43 mag and only added the minimum needed to get the 7th round in. The last round is plenty snug in fit but it does go in without issue. I recommend the Pearce +1 extensions for anyone wanting to add an additional round to their G43. Hope this helps.

    I've not had any interest in the +2 extensions, but if anyone has one and would like to add a similar measurement photo like the ones above, it would be a very welcomed addition!

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Points: 361, Level: 7
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 39
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    mountaindude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Northern Nevada
    Posts
    27
    Glock Armorer?
    Yes
    Rep Power
    0
    Cool. Great write up.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,019, Level: 40
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 131
    Overall activity: 48.0%
    Bond007's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    181
    Rep Power
    6
    Thank you for taking the time and the measurements on the extensions.I found this helpful and informative.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    Glock.pro
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,209, Level: 61
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 241
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    PattonWasRight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Near The Arch
    Posts
    956
    Glock Armorer?
    No
    Glocks Owned
    Gen 4 26, Gen 2 19, Gen 4 31, G43
    Rep Power
    7
    Yep, once you see there's really no tradeoff, making the G43 an 8-rounder is a no brainer.

    I got 2 of them, based on your earlier posts and research I did.

    Used them tonite, fully loading the mag with +1 in the chamber. All worked fine. Using an Uplula (sp?) definitely helps with the last round. They seemed to loosen up at the range, and with 7 rounds in the mag, I can still squeeze down the top round maybe 2-3 mm, so that's a bit reassuring.

    I'd bet you can dremel off a bit of that shoehorn from the Pearce and have the length equal that of the Glock extension. I did that on my G26's Pearce as that hook / horn showed thru a bit too much for my liking beneath summer shirts.

    I'm sure Pearce will sell many of these via your write up!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bob
    Just Your Average Jewish Redneck.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 378, Level: 7
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    kramden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    0
    I did the same. They work well.

  7. #6
    djm
    djm is offline
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,037, Level: 40
    Level completed: 44%, Points required for next Level: 113
    Overall activity: 0%
    djm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    S.W. Florida
    Posts
    184
    Glock Armorer?
    No
    Glocks Owned
    G19 gen4, 26, 43, 30s
    Rep Power
    6
    Nice report! Now I'm all in with the extended base plates.
    Denny

    NRA life member.

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 2,378, Level: 29
    Level completed: 52%, Points required for next Level: 72
    Overall activity: 26.0%
    jstanfield103's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    52
    Glocks Owned
    3
    Rep Power
    8
    Good report, Thanks.
    I have the Pierce +1 on my G43 also, works very well. 0 problems to this point. I also have the Magguts +1 spring in the flat base magazine. It also works that way I still can have both base plates styles if wanted.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,209, Level: 61
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 241
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    PattonWasRight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Near The Arch
    Posts
    956
    Glock Armorer?
    No
    Glocks Owned
    Gen 4 26, Gen 2 19, Gen 4 31, G43
    Rep Power
    7
    Since my earlier post I burned up 150 rounds through my Pearce +1, 0 issues also.

    Recently ordered an extra mag, flat base that I'll keep when I need max conceal-ability, so I am interested in trying MagGuts, which I have 0 experience with
    Last edited by PattonWasRight; 04-10-2016 at 10:34 AM.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bob
    Just Your Average Jewish Redneck.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator
    Points: 55,970, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 57.0%
    __jb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sunshine State
    Posts
    6,897
    Glock Armorer?
    Yes
    Glocks Owned
    Help... My Glocks have started multiplying...
    Rep Power
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by MtStream View Post
    Since G43 magazine extensions has been a popular topic lately and I already had the camera out, I thought I would show the Pearce +1 extension compared to the Glock factory baseplates along with a very brief review
    Great writeup, MtStream! Lots of thought with good information and pictures... Good post!

    I've been wanting a 43 since they came out, but have been dilly dallying around... Need to get with the plan and pick up one of these beauties... Pearce +1 baseplate looks like a no brainer...
    "While the anti-gunners seem very concerned about the "one life" that your firearm might take -- they are not very concerned about the lives it will save." Jon H. Gutmacher, Florida Firearms - Law, Use & Ownership

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,209, Level: 61
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 241
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    PattonWasRight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Near The Arch
    Posts
    956
    Glock Armorer?
    No
    Glocks Owned
    Gen 4 26, Gen 2 19, Gen 4 31, G43
    Rep Power
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by __jb View Post
    Great writeup, MtStream! Lots of thought with good information and pictures... Good post!

    I've been wanting a 43 since they came out, but have been dilly dallying around... Need to get with the plan and pick up one of these beauties... Pearce +1 baseplate looks like a no brainer...
    Indeed, and hey, when the "Super Moderator" chimes in to thank a member for a thorough, well written and detailed post, I think that does a lot to set the "tone" on this forum, and why I spend more time here than other Glock places.

    The only risk of getting a 43 is that your 26 or 19 may start to collect some dust / sit on the bench for carry duties.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Bob
    Just Your Average Jewish Redneck.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Pearce +1 mag extensions
    By j870sm in forum Glock Pistols
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-20-2016, 10:29 AM
  2. Pearce extension
    By 902066 in forum Glock Pistols
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-12-2013, 10:16 PM
  3. Pearce grip extension for a Taurus Slim
    By rhino1015 in forum Non-Glock Firearms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-06-2013, 01:02 PM
  4. Pearce +0 Mag Extensions...
    By Chills in forum Glock Pistols
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 06-17-2012, 11:55 PM
  5. Pearce Grip Extensions on Glock 26 Gen 4
    By texanron in forum Glock Pistols
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-16-2012, 04:18 AM

Search tags for this page

g43 mag extension
,
g43 magguts with pearce 1 grip extension
,

glock 43 magguts review

,

glock 43 pearce plus 1 review

,

glock 43 review

,
glock g43 magguts pearce 1 extension
,
pearce g43 magazine extension reviews
,

pearce grip glock 43 1 review

,

pearce plus 1 glock 43 opinions

,
pearce plus 1 reviews

Tags for this Thread